Witika or Wendigo, I’m Scary

Oh the lols were hearty!!!

Jean Zimmerman

I am the voice of the Witika. Sometimes I am called the Wendigo, sometimes the Weetigo or Wetiko or other variants. It all depends on the region you’re from and the belief system you share. I roam the frozen north especially, northern Minnesota, the wastes of Canada, and New York State in the snowy winters.

wendigo7

The Wendigo, the Wendigo

I saw it just a friend ago

Last night it lurked in Canada

Tonight on your veranada!

So wrote none other than Ogden Nash.

I make an appearance in The Orphanmaster as the vicious monster the European settlers find themselves terrorized by when children start to go missing from the colony.

Howl_of_the_Wendigo_by_Moonshadow01

As everyone in New Amsterdam knows, I stand around nine feet tall, with greenish, putrid skin, long fangs, and a voracious appetite for human flesh. The Algonquins made me part of their belief system. The name is thought to mean…

View original post 229 more words

3 thoughts on “Witika or Wendigo, I’m Scary

  1. Glad you liked my post, TX. Take good care of your leg.

  2. txwitika777 says:

    Is anyone else at all concerned/ amused that my surname is that of cannibalistic/ rapacious/ mythical creature that has terrorised Indigenous peoples for hundreds of years? no? Well, okay then… I’ll go tell my troubles to a bottle of vodka then…

Leave a Reply

